The ‘Buts’

They are a trick

Olabanji Stephen
1 min readOct 6, 2022

A trick to move you into inaction

A trick to make you fall back

A trick to make you ignore what’s available and good

A trick to make you ungrateful

A trick to make you feel helpless

I could have been there but…

I could have done it but…

I could have started but…

But I'm black

But I'm white

But I’m short

But I don't have this

But… but… but…

Play the ‘and’ card instead

I want to apply for the job, and I don’t yet have the qualifications, so I’m going to apply anyway or I’m going to find someone within the organization (on LinkedIn) to ask what I might do…maybe get a recommendation or intern for a start or I might be considered for a junior role or who knows…

I want to write today and I don't feel inspired, so, I’m going to lean towards discipline and write anyway or I’ll think deeper, or I’ll take a walk first.

I want to hit the gym and it’s raining, so I'll do some pushups and home workouts.

‘But’ reduces our possibilities.
‘And’ opens the door to a plethora of them.

--

--

Olabanji Stephen

I see the world differently and attempt to interpret it in ways that inspire genius